Mexican Challenges + Simple Salsa Recipe

I may have written before that whilst I’m here in México, I keep in contact with a few classes at a high school back in Wales – I’m SO glad I opted to take part in the scheme, it gives me a chance to try and get them interested in languages and in México, and maybe encourage them to take a path similar to mine – going to Uni wasn’t something I was sure about, nor was studying Spanish, but it turned out to be the best decision of my life and I can’t think of anything else I’d rather be doing.  Needless to say, I also wouldn’t be in México – another thing I wasn’t sure about until it was nearly time to apply for places – but that also turned out to be the best thing for me by far, so if I can get others to see what great opportunities studying languages offers, mission accomplished!

Anyway, I stole an idea from a friend who is doing the same thing but with a different school, and asked the classes to make me a list of challenges to complete whilst I’m here.  Here goes:

  1. Eat a ghost chilli and film it (this probably won’t happen – ghost chillis are so hot it’s actually quite dangerous (plus they’re from India, not México – a valid excuse I think!))
  2. Go to a bull fight/meet a bull
  3. Make a hot salsa and share it with friends
  4. Wear a Mexican hat/sombrero for a whole day, and take photos
  5. Take a photo at a Mexican festival
  6. Learn a tune on a Mexican instrument
  7. Play street football with the locals and photograph
  8. Do an ice bucket challenge
  9. Take a shot of tequila with salt and lime and film

The subject of my post today is the hot salsa – when we was horse riding in Puerto Vallarta, Josh and I were given a little lesson in making tortillas and different salsas, one of which was particularly easy, so here it is.

Ingredients: tomato, onion, cucumber, chilli, coriander, lime.

P1010412

Directions: Cut everything up, squeeze the lime, and eat with tortillas.  Could it be any easier?

P1010415

All colours of the Mexican flag!

P1010416 P1010417

¡Buen provecho!

sig

Leave a Reply

